Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Suggestions for Camera (Read 5373 times)
dan

I Love YaBB 2.5 AE!

Suggestions for Camera
Feb 19th, 2011 at 8:34pm
Print Post  
I am totally new to photographing specimens.  Up until now I have just collected and admired those that I have in my cabinet. I also want to learn how to photograph fluorescent specimens.  How do you furnish enough light to have an image?

Do you folks have a camera that you would suggest?  What $$ are we talking?  Thanks for any info.  Dan

IP Logged

Dennis

Beryl is good!

Re: Suggestions for Camera
Reply #1 - Feb 20th, 2011 at 8:46am
Print Post  
Hi Dan,

I have been using my wife's Canon PowerShot SX130 IS (12.1 megapixels; 12X Zoom; Image Stabilization) for a few months now.  We bought it last September for around $250, but it has come down in price, because cameras, like computers, are always out of style in a year.  If I had the $$ I would buy a camera like Scott's.  But, for the price, the one I am using does pretty well for macro shots.

Here are some photos I took last week of a Fluorapatite specimen from the Foote Mine in Kings Mountain.  The specimen is 2.0" (51.0 mm) long and the largest crystal is 0.23" (5.8 mm).  I did not use a tripod, so the closeups would have been sharper if I had.

I used the same camera to photograph some of my fluorescent specimens just to see what results I could get.  The pics came out better than I thought. I hand held the camera (one hand) while holding the portable UV lamp with the other, and a dim light source near the table so the camera would focus on the specimen.  It was a juggling act to say the least.  You can view some of those photos in the Glowhounds forum on Dirty Rockhounds.  I posted photos of NC and other areas specimens.