Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Richmond County Rocks (Read 1976 times)
rockytoprockshop

www.RockHoundLounge.
com

Richmond County Rocks
Nov 19th, 2012 at 5:24pm
Print Post  
I wanted to thank Scott again for posting some pics of mineral finds in my home county of Richmond Co., NC. I am still learning the site and how to post pics. Anyone wanting to see them can go to the North Carolina section and they are there under "counties". My goal was to let other rockhounds know about the area which sits upon the far southeastern most section of the Piedmont and coastal plains on the "fall line". There is schrol, corundum, epidote, siderite, rock crystal, tourmalinated smoky quartz, limonite after pyrite, and calcite posted there to view. The area has a small wedge of exposed granitic rocks in part similar to the Raleigh belt and on the NC geologic maps, appears to be an extension of that belt that wasn't covered by alluvial coastal sediments (at least in a small area of the county). The far north western side of the county catches the last lowly foothills of the Uwharries to the north in Montgomery County and have produced some quartz, limonite, pyrite, and even a little gold. Anyone interested in collecting the area and stopping by is more than welcomed to get with me anytime. Again, thanks Scott for your help.

IP Logged

Laurie Adams
Ex Member

Re: Richmond County Rocks
Reply #1 - Nov 20th, 2012 at 8:02am
Print Post  
Thanks for the pics, Mike. (and Scott).  By the way, you're still reversing the o and r in schorl.  (not schrol)

IP Logged

rockytoprockshop

www.RockHoundLounge.
com

Reply #2 - Nov 20th, 2012 at 10:20am
Print Post  
Laurie,