Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) My first Crystal Find!!!! (Read 5483 times)
Antonio
YaBB Newbies

RockHoundLounger

My first Crystal Find!!!!
Sep 16th, 2015 at 2:24pm
Print Post  
Found in my yard after bursting rocks all last week, today I find this beauty!!!!

20150916_112837.jpg ( 99 KB | 116 Downloads )
20150916_112837.jpg

IP Logged

Scott LaBorde
RHL Administrator

"Rock it" science!

Re: My first Crystal Find!!!!
Reply #1 - Sep 16th, 2015 at 2:34pm
Print Post  
Very good Antonio!  Excellent find.  That's a sure sign that there are crystals all around your area.  Well done.

Scott LaBorde
RockHoundLounge Creator
IP Logged

Antonio
YaBB Newbies

RockHoundLounger

Reply #2 - Sep 16th, 2015 at 2:55pm
Print Post  
Thanks, I'm new to Rockhounding question how I burst the rock to harvest the crystal or do I leave well enough alone?

IP Logged

Scott LaBorde
RHL Administrator

"Rock it" science!

Reply #3 - Sep 16th, 2015 at 4:03pm
Print Post  
That's what is called a vug.  It's pretty much encased in solid quartz all around that crystalline area and you'll pretty much shatter it if you try to bust it open.  The best thing you could do if you wanted to make it more presentable is take it to someone that has a rock saw who could saw the rock down further and make it sit better.  Keep looking around for larger vugs or veins of crystallization and you hopefully find loose crystals in the same area.

Scott LaBorde
RockHoundLounge Creator
IP Logged

Antonio
YaBB Newbies

RockHoundLounger

Reply #4 - Sep 17th, 2015 at 12:54pm
Print Post  
Scott,  I can't drive down the road without looking for rock formations lol. I did find some large quartz rocks in a dried up lake bed but had to get to an appointment but I'm going back to explore this afternoon. I was in such a crunch for time I forgot to snap pictures  Thought I saw what appeared to be smokey quartz

IP Logged

JoeM
God Member

I Love YaBB 2.5 AE!