Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Rock lover and part time lapidarist (Read 574 times)
AprilW
YaBB Newbies

RockHoundLounger

Rock lover and part time lapidarist
Aug 17th, 2021 at 7:40pm
Print Post  
Hello everyone,

My name is April. I have grown up in North Carolina and while I am pretty good at identifying common gemstones, I really suck at identifying the stones in my own backyard. Lol.

I am a jewelry designer and part time lapidarist. While I love the artistry and beauty of gemstones, my interests lie more in stones I can cut than mineral specimens. Though if I find a crystal point, it is going home with me (if I can).

While I haven’t met most of you, I do know JoeM. He and I have talked rocks over the years and I do occasionally buy cabs from him for special projects. He has been encouraging me to do more rockhounding for my jewelry stones.

Anyway, I will probably be around trying to understand the local geology and the stones I am finding locally.

April

IP Logged

JoeM
God Member

I Love YaBB 2.5 AE!

Re: Rock lover and part time lapidarist
Reply #1 - Aug 17th, 2021 at 10:30pm
Print Post  
Welcome to the Board, April. Thanks for the introduction! Smiley

And,
not that this book will help you a lot with individual mineral identification, it does do a great job explaining how and when the rocks of North Carolina were formed and a lot about how they got to look like they do today. The book has nice concise chapters on each area, so it's easy to read one section at a time when you have the time. I think you would enjoy reading it for backGround information.

"Exploring the Geology of the Carolinas"
by Kevin G. Stewart and Mary-Russell Roberson

IP Logged

Scott LaBorde
RHL Administrator

"Rock it" science!

Re: Rock lover and part time lapidarist
Reply #2 - Aug 27th, 2021 at 11:28pm
Print Post