Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Wood bark looking rock found near Knoxville TN (Read 161 times)
pekowski
YaBB Newbies

RockHoundLounger

Wood bark looking rock found near Knoxville TN
Apr 26th, 2024 at 12:16am
Print Post  
Here is a cool rock I found in the hills near Farragut TN which is near Knoxville. I found it in a washed out logging road. Is it petrified wood? I'm no rock expert. I haven't been able to find anything like it on the internet.

IMG_3992.jpg ( 3340 KB | 12 Downloads )
IMG_3992.jpg
IMG_3993.jpg ( 3207 KB | 7 Downloads )
IMG_3993.jpg
IMG_3994.jpg ( 3164 KB | 3 Downloads )
IMG_3994.jpg
IMG_3995.jpg ( 3197 KB | 2 Downloads )
IMG_3995.jpg
IMG_3996.jpg ( 3629 KB | 2 Downloads )
IMG_3996.jpg
IMG_3997.jpg ( 3312 KB | 2 Downloads )
IMG_3997.jpg
IMG_3999.jpg ( 3509 KB | 7 Downloads )
IMG_3999.jpg

IP Logged

JoeM
God Member

I Love YaBB 2.5 AE!

Re: Wood bark looking rock found near Knoxville TN
Reply #1 - Apr 26th, 2024 at 11:04am
Print Post  
Very cool looking rock! A little gnarly.  Smiley
Sure looks like pet wood to me. Thanks for the pictures!

IP Logged

daves64

Rockaholic

Reply #2 - Apr 26th, 2024 at 11:24am
Print Post  
I'm thinking not petrified wood, but more like a differentially weathered limestone or hard sandstone. Put a small amount of white vinegar on one of the fresher broken sections & see if it bubbles or not. If it does, then it's most likely limestone. If not, then it's something else. But I honestly don't think that's pet wood. I could be wrong, but I don't think so.

IP Logged

pekowski
YaBB Newbies

RockHoundLounger

Reply #3 - Apr 26th, 2024 at 1:38pm
Print Post