Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic New from NC (Read 1079 times)
Alina
YaBB Newbies

www.RockHoundLounge.
com

New from NC
May 7th, 2012 at 10:30pm
Print Post  
I got a very wonderful invitation from Joe to come check this place out, so I did.  I'm from North Carolina these days, and I'm just getting into rock hounding, mostly as it applies to flintknapping and lithic tool assemblages.

It never fails in my life that whenever I decide something is boring and not for me, a few years down the road that's what I'm spending my free time doing.  I never liked geology in school, never saw much use for it, and now I'm doing archaeology and flintknapping, and I suddenly wish I hadn't thought geology was boring all those years ago.  Oh well, I've just got a lot of catching up to do is all.

I'm really interested in learning to identify knappable stone from my native region, but I wouldn't mind learning about other regions as well.  I'm going up to New England for an archaeological dig next month and if I can sneak some side-trips out to New England rock sites, all the better.  I'm also interested in learning more about tool types used by Native Americans.  I've learned a little bit of lithic typology here in North America, but most of my focus has been on paleolithic stuff from Africa, the Levant, and Europe.

I love primitive weapons, especially atlatls, bows, and slings, but pretty much any primitive weapon will do, so I spend quite a bit of time making those as well.  As I get better with my knapping, I hope to do more and more of that with stone tools rather than metal ones.

Anyway, nice to be here, I hope I learn a lot!

IP Logged

JoeM
God Member

I Love YaBB 2.5 AE!

Re: New from NC
Reply #1 - May 8th, 2012 at 8:31am
Print Post  
Welcome to the Board, Alina Smiley
I'm glad you decided to sign in because I'm already looking
forward to the fieldtrip reports on the dig you will be going on
next month. Wink

Look forward to meeting you,
Joe